May 29th 2024 Minutes

Minutes of the Meeting of the Parish Council 7.00 Wednesday 29th May 2024

Council Members in Attendance: Penny Milnes (SKDC); Alex Maughan (LCC); Jenny Taylor [Councillor]

Public in Attendance: 21

1. Opening of meeting and welcome

2. Co-option of new councillors – Confirmation of co-option of councillors and signing Declaration of Office and Declaration of Interests forms.

Councillors have been summoned to this meeting to co-opt new members to join Stubton Parish Council. There are 4 applicants for 4 positions, all residents of the parish - Sam Kirk, Sam Mitchell, Mya Watkins and Jackie Britten-Crooks. Cllr Milnes complimented them all on their strong applications. All 4 were appointed as councillors and will sign the Declaration of Acceptance.

The round of applause, that followed, from the attending residents displayed the very positive mood during the evening and was gratefully accepted by the new councillors.

3. Apologies for absence - Cllr. Mitchell was unable to attend in person. However, a link set up by Cllr Kirk allowed him to join in by video.

4. Appointment of Chairman

Cllr Taylor proposed Cllr Mitchell to take the Chair. This was seconded by Cllr Kirk. Cllr Mitchell agreed to take this position and will sign the declaration of Acceptance of Office as Chair when he returns.

5. Appointment of Vice-Chair

Cllr Taylor proposed Cllr. Watkins as Vice-Chair. Seconded by Cllr Kirk. Cllr Watkins accepted.

All acceptances of office will be signed and witnessed.

6. Parish Clerk - Plans to appoint a Clerk are ongoing and the post is expected to be filled in September. No further information was given.

Meeting suspended for Open Forum

Open Forum – Cllr Watkins asked for a show of hands from all residents who had any issues they wished to bring to the open forum to discuss. There were no questions or concerns raised so the Forum was closed.

Date and time of next meeting: Monday 17th June 2024 – 7 pm. MEETING CLOSED

Cllr Taylor did finish by saying that if residents had any questions they felt needed raising for the next agenda they should email the Clerk at stubtonclerk@gmail.com.

Sam Mitchell – CHAIR – sammstubtonpc@gmail.com

Mya Watkins – VICE-CHAIR – myastubtonpc@gmail.com

Sam Kirk – COUNCILLOR – samkstutbtonpc@gmail.com

Jackie Britten-Crooks – COUNCILLOR jackiestubtonpc@gmail.com

Jenny Taylor – COUNCILLOR – jennystubtonpc@gmail.com

TO THE RESIDENTS OF STUBTON

We are your new Council now. We are ready to listen to your questions/concerns/ suggestions.

Please feel free to approach us or send an email and we will take your issue back to the rest of the team of Councillors to discuss ways forward with you and/or at the next Council meetings.

Email:-stubtonclerk@gmail.com – J.Taylor – Acting Clerk

We are learning all the time, in our new roles, so please be patient.

No problem is insurmountable!